[Skip to Content]Privacy Policy
Des Moines, Iowa, USA 515-244-2151
  • Book Now
Singer-songwriter Matisyahu has been on journey inward for more than a decade. The journeyhas been private and public. The journey has at times been explicitly external, even while beingdriven by internal change. Now nearly thirteen years after the release of his first studio record,Matisyahu and his band have done something unmatched in his past repertoire; they havecrafted that journey into a musically thematic eight song movement.The band features longtime guitarist Aaron Dugan, Dub Trio bassist and drummer Stu Brooksand Joe Tomino, and keyboard virtuoso BigYuki -- and the journey starts with them. The bandimprovised for hours in the studio with Matisyahu watching on as an admirer without singing asingle lyric. Out of the improvisations grew melodic themes, rhythmic peaks and valleys,blissful and proto-song guitar passages, deep dub meditations and ultimately an inspiredinstrumental record until itself. Only once the band had crafted this musical narrative, didMatisyahu begin to work on a lyrical narrative of his own -- a lyrical narrative that issimultaneously informed and integrated with the music yet driven by Matisyahus own personaljourney. The result is Undercurrent, Matisyahus sixth studio album.The record is musically Matisyahus most courageous release to date and lyrically his mostvulnerable.The courage in the music comes from trust. Trust in the band. And only in the band. Thereare no post-production bells and whistles or litany of special guests on Undercurrent. On theopening track, Step Out into the Light the band lays out a repetitive minimalist verse sectionthat anchors the listener in a near meditative loop only to open up into a gorgeous set of chordchanges that makes the chorus feel revelatory, as if the listener has earned this release, and canachieve the song-titles call to action.By the records third track, Coming Up Empty the band has established melodic themes thatwill be called upon or re-harmonized later in the record, and just two songs in
  • Start:February 28, 2018 Time: 7:30 PM
  • End:February 28, 2018 Time: 11:59 PM
  • Recurring
  • Where:Wooly's, 504 E. Locust, Des Moines, Iowa, United States, 50309
  • Phone:N/A
  • Event Type: Concerts & Music
  • Ticket Price:N/A


Captcha Code
* Required Fields